Sunday, April 21

Spanish super cup

  The Supercopa de Espana, sometimes known as the Spanish Super Cup, is an annual competition that was first held in 1982. Before that, it was a two-team competition between the winners of La Liga and the Copa del Rey from the previous season, or, in the event of a domestic double, the team that placed second in the league, much like the English Community Shield. 

Spanish super cup

  Including the La Liga and Copa del Rey runners-up, it was expanded to four teams for the 2019–20 season. Once more, the team that finishes third in La Liga at the end of the preceding season gets invited if they belong to the same category. 

  After winning a record-tying 14 titles, Barcelona emerged victorious from last season’s semifinals, defeating Real Betis on penalties and going on to defeat Real Madrid 3-1 in the championship game. The Blaugrana will defend their crown along with Real, Atletico Madrid, and Osasuna in this season’s renewal.

Spanish Super Cup Date

  The winners of La Liga and the Copa del Rey from the previous season used to square off in the Spanish Super Cup, a doubleheader held during the preseason. To enable the competing clubs to avoid more fixture congestion, the competition was expanded to include four teams, which led to a calendar change to January.

  The Spanish Super Cup of 2023–2024 will happen on Wednesday, January 10, and Sunday, January 14. The final is scheduled for the 14th, with the semi-finals on the 10th and 11th.

Spanish Super Cup Venue

 The competition has been conducted in Saudi Arabia from 2019–20, with the exception of 2020–21, when it was spread between three locations in Andalusia.

 The competition will take place in Saudi Arabia once more in 2023–2024, with the semi-finals and final taking place in King Saud University Stadium, also called Al-Awwal Park, in Riyadh.

Spanish Super Cup Times

 The Spanish Super Cup’s three matches will begin at 19:00 UK time.

Spanish Super Cup How to watch

 For UK viewers, there are presently no ways to watch the Spanish Super Cup. TNT Sports aired the competition last season, but it doesn’t seem like they were able to reach a deal to extend their broadcast rights.

Spanish Super Cup Teams

TeamMethod of Qualification
Real Madrid2022/23 Copa de Rey winners
Barcelona2022/23 La Liga winners
Osasuna2022/23 Copa de Rey runners-up
Atletico Madrid2022/23 La Liga third-place finishers

The holders Barcelona, Real and Atletico Madrid, as well as Osasuna, are competing in this season’s Spanish Super Cup. Barca is back to defend their crown and earned a spot by winning the La Liga championship in 2022–2023.

 Winners of the Copa del Rey Osasuna, who made their debut in the domestic final of the previous season, join Real as they attempt to win their 13th championship.

 The invitation was granted to the side who placed third in the previous La Liga season, two-time champion Atletico Madrid, because Los Blancos were the Copa del Rey winners and La Liga runners-up.

Spanish Super Cup odds

 The competition begins on Wednesday with Real and Atletico facing off; Real is 1/1 to win in 90 minutes, Los Colchoneros are 11/4, and the draw is 12/5.

 The teams’ previous meeting ended in a 3-1 victory for Atleti, which is 28/1 to be replicated. In that game, Alvaro Morata scored twice, and he is 9/4 to score against his old team once more.

 Next up is a Thursday matchup between Barcelona and Osasuna, with Barca at 2/5 to win, a draw at 17/4, and Osasuna at 11/2 to be supported.

 After joining Athletico Paranaense, young Vitor Roque made appearances in the La Liga victory against Las Palmas and the Copa del Rey victory at Barbastro. He could be a player to watch. The adolescent Brazilian is 7/5 in the anytime market to score the team’s first goal.

Spanish Super Cup Most Victories

  Barcelona has won the most Spanish Super Cups (14 total), as was already mentioned. With 12 triumphs, Real is unavoidably their closest competitor; the most recent one was in 2021/22. Athletic Bilbao (1984, 2015, and 2021) and Deportivo La Coruna (1995, 2000, and 2002) are tied for third place with three apiece.

 Two titles have been won by Atletico, in 1985 and 2014; other winners of the Super Cup are Valencia (1999), Sevilla (2007), Zaragoza (2004), Mallorca (1998), and Real Sociedad (1982).


When is the Spanish Super Cup of 2024 going to happen?

  January 10–14 is when the 40th Spanish Super Cup will be held.

Who has the most victories in the Spanish Super Cup?

  With 14 Spanish Super Cup wins, Barcelona is in the lead, with Real Madrid, their bitter rivals, coming in second with 12. After three wins apiece, Athletic Club and Deportivo La Coruña are in the lead.

When is the Spanish Super Cup 2024 semifinal round scheduled?

  The first semi-final between Real Madrid and Atlético is scheduled for Wednesday, January 10. A day later, on Thursday, January 11, Barça and Osasuna will play in the second semi-final. The final is slated to take place on Sunday, January 14.

  The La Liga matchday 20 matches between the four teams have been postponed. On that particular matchday, Barça and Osasuna will square off, and their postponed match is scheduled for Tuesday, January 30. On Wednesday, January 31, Atletico will take on Rayo Vallecano, while on Thursday, February 1, Real Madrid will travel to Getafe.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *